Electoral District Boundaries Commission

Updated 3 mos ago

An Electoral District Boundaries Commission is appointed, in accordance with the Elections Act, within six months of polling day following every second general election.

The Commission is chaired by a judge or retired judge of the Supreme Court, a representative of each registered political party represented in the Legislative Assembly and the Chief Electoral Officer.

The Commission is responsible to review the existing electoral districts and to make proposals to the Legislative Assembly as to the boundaries, number and names of the electoral districts of the Yukon.

A Commission was appointed on May 3, 2017 to review the electoral district boundaries. Electoral district boundaries, once enacted, will be in place for the next two general elections. Additional information appears on the Commission’s website, here.

Reports of past Commissions are available here.

Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR : 2 a plus tôt

Une commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales est nommée, conformément à la Loi sur les élections, au plus tard six mois suivant le jour du scrutin après chaque deuxième élection générale.

La Commission se compose d’un juge ou un juge à la retraite de la Cour suprême qui agit comme président, d’un membre de chacun des partis politiques enregistrés représenté à l’Assemblée législative et du directeur général/de la directrice générale des élections.

La Commission est chargée d’examiner les circonscriptions électorales actuelles et de présenter des propositions à l’Assemblée législative quant aux limites, au nombre et aux noms des circonscriptions électorales du Yukon.

La Commission a été nommée le 3 mai 2017. Une fois que la Commission aura adopté les nouvelles limites des circonscriptions électorales, ces dernières seront en vigueur pour les deux prochaines élections générales. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de la Commission, ici.

Les rapports des précédentes commissions peuvent être consultés ici.