Information Sheet for Territorial Returning Officer Position

Updated 3 wks ago

THE NON-PARTISANSHIP
Elections Yukon is an independent, non-partisan office responsible for the administration of territorial general elections, school council elections, and school board elections. All Returning Officers must be non-partisan at all times during their appointment.

THE POSITION
Returning Officers are responsible to the chief electoral officer for the preparation and delivery of fair, compliant and impartial elections in their electoral district.

THE AVAILABILITY Elections Yukon must be ready to deliver an electoral event at any time. Throughout their terms of appointment, Returning Officers must be available part-time to complete training and carry out preparatory assignments, as directed by Elections Yukon. All Returning Officers must be prepared to complete training and readiness tasking activities when required. Each readiness task requires a set number of hours to complete. The schedule for readiness assignments is established by Elections Yukon and communicated to Returning Officers as far in advance as possible.

THE HOURS When an election is called, Returning Officers must be able to begin administration of the provincial electoral event in their electoral district immediately and as requested for the duration of the election period. During the 6-7 weeks of an electoral event, they must be available to open and operate their Returning Officer office (34-35 days minimum) with time commitments of 4-8 pm Monday to Friday, 10 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Saturday and 12 noon - 4:00 p.m. Sunday.
Other specific days such as the Close of Nomination Day, the two Advance Polling Days and Polling Day the hours will be longer, up to 15 hours a day.

THE PAY Election period pay is $5,750 with additional pay for certain milestone activities. There is a yearly honorarium of $545. Readiness tasks are conducted normally in 4-8 hours blocks and at least twice a year done on your own time at $28/hr. Pay for training is $190/day. The Tariff of Fees is under review.

THE QUALIFICATIONS AND SKILLS Management experience, service oriented, well organized, strong communication skills and computer proficiency. Able to work in dynamic and fast paced work environment. Previous election experience is not required.

APPLY →

For more information see the job description or contact 1-866-668-8683 or info@electionsyukon.ca

Feuillet d'information sur le poste de directeur/directrice du scrutin territorial

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR : 2 mois plus tôt

IMPARTIALITÉ POLITIQUE
Élections Yukon est un bureau indépendant et non partisan chargé d’organiser les élections générales territoriales et les élections des conseils et des commissions scolaires. Tous les titulaires du poste doivent être non partisans en tout temps durant leur mandat.

DESCRIPTION DU POSTE
Sous la direction du directeur général des élections, les directeurs du scrutin sont chargés de la préparation et de la tenue d’élections justes, impartiales et conformes à la loi dans leur circonscription.

DISPONIBILITÉ
Élections Yukon doit être prêt à organiser la tenue d’un scrutin en tout temps. Tout au long de leur mandat, les directeurs du scrutin doivent être disponibles à temps partiel pour suivre des formations et effectuer des travaux préparatoires suivant les directives d’Élections Yukon. Ils doivent pouvoir terminer la formation et les tâches de préparation lorsque nécessaire. La réalisation de chaque tâche de préparation nécessite un nombre d’heures défini. Le calendrier des travaux préparatoires est établi par Élections Yukon et communiqué au titulaire du poste aussi longtemps à l’avance que possible.

HEURES
Lorsqu’une élection est déclenchée, les directeurs du scrutin doivent pouvoir commencer à administrer, sans délai et conformément à la demande, l’élection territoriale dans leur circonscription électorale, et ce, pendant toute la période électorale. Pendant les 6 à 7 semaines de l’élection, ils doivent être en mesure d’ouvrir et de gérer leur bureau de directeur du scrutin (au moins 34 ou 35 jours) de 16 h à 20 h du lundi au vendredi, de 10 h à 18 h le samedi, et de midi à 16 h le dimanche. D’autres jours comme le jour de clôture, les deux jours de vote par anticipation et le jour du scrutin, ils devront travailler jusqu’à 15 heures par jour.

RÉMUNÉRATION
La rémunération pour la période électorale est de 5 750 $, à laquelle s’ajoutent d’autres honoraires pour certaines activités importantes. Les honoraires annuels s’élèvent à 545 $. Les tâches de préparation se déroulent normalement au moins deux fois l’an, en blocs de quatre à huit heures dans leur temps libre et au tarif de 28 $ l’heure. La rémunération pour la formation est de 190 $ par jour. Le tarif des honoraires est en cours de révision.

APTITUDES ET COMPÉTENCES
Expérience en gestion, souci du service, sens de l’organisation, solides compétences en communication et connaissances des outils informatiques. Capacité à travailler dans un milieu de travail dynamique. Aucune expérience électorale antérieure n’est requise.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez la description du poste ou composez le 1 866 668 8683 ou envoyez un courriel à info@electionsyukon.ca.

POSTULER →