Elections & By-Elections of School Board Trustees

Updated 2 wks ago

YUKON FRANCOPHONE SCHOOL BOARD

INFORMATION SHEET YUKON FRANCOPHONE SCHOOL BOARD GENERAL ELECTION


Elections Yukon will administer the general election to fill the five trustee positions on the Yukon Francophone School Board (CSFY). Nominations open Monday, October 7, 2019. The Close of Nominations is noon on Thursday, October 24, 2019.


SCHOOL            REGION            POSITIONS
École Émilie Tremblay, Académie Parhélie,
et École Nomade
           Yukon            5

School Board Role: The Yukon Francophone School Board is governed by a Board of Trustees. They are responsible for the administration, policies and operation of the three French language schools which are under their jurisdiction. Their mission is to lead the development of quality education programs that foster the full potential of their students and their engagement as citizens.

Candidate Nomination Period: Monday, October 7 – Thursday, October 24. Nomination forms, additional information, and returning office contact numbers for candidates will be available for pick up at the school, the Yukon Francophone School Board office and online at electionsyukon.ca. Nominations must be submitted before noon on Thursday, October 24.


NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES

OPENS MONDAY OCTOBER 7, 2019 and CLOSES AT NOON ON THURSDAY, OCTOBER 24, 2019.


Nominations may be submitted to the Returning Officer by appointment or between 10 AM and noon on October 24, 2019 at École Émilie-Tremblay.

Polling Day: A vote will be required if the number of candidates exceed the number of positions at the close of nominations. If a poll is required, it will be held on Monday, November 4 from 3 to 8 p.m. at the school (20 Falcon Drive).

Mail In Ballot: If you are an eligible elector who will be unable to vote on polling day, the Education Act allows mail in ballots under certain situations. These include infirmity, hospitalization, absence from the education area, confinement to a correctional center, hours of employment, or appointment as a deputy returning officer or poll clerk. Application must be made, and completed ballots returned, to the returning officer before the close of the polls on polling day.

Eligibility as Electors and Candidates: To be a candidate or vote in a Yukon Francophone School Board election, you must be a Canadian citizen, at least 18 years old and have French Language rights under Section 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. You must also have lived in the Yukon for at least three months before polling day or be a parent of a child attending the schools.

For FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) click here


Contact: For additional information, please contact the Returning Officer, Julie Ménard, by email at rodsyfsb@gmail.com

Results from the 2018 School Board Election, and other elections and by-elections, are available here.

For more information on the school board, contact:

Yukon Francophone School Board
478 Range Road, suite 3
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 3A2
867-667-8680
www.csfy.ca


School board elections are conducted in accordance with the Education Act, which appears here.

Élections générales et partielles des membres des commissions scolaires

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR : 1 sem plus tôt

COMMISSION SCOLAIRE FRANCOPHONE DU YUKON

FEUILLET D’INFORMATION ÉLECTION GÉNÉRALE À LA COMMISSION SCOLAIRE FRANCOPHONE DU YUKON


Élections Yukon organisera une élection générale en vue de pourvoir les cinq postes de commissaires à la Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon (CSFY). La période de présentation des candidatures débute le lundi 7 octobre 2019 et prend fin le jeudi 24 octobre 2019, à midi.


ÉCOLE            DISTRICT            POSTES
Toutes les écoles francophones relevant de la Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon (École Émilie-Tremblay, Académie Parhélie, École Nomade et l’école secondaire francophone en construction)            Yukon            5

Rôle des commissaires : La Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon est dirigée par un conseil de commissaires. Ces derniers sont responsables de l’administration, de l’application des politiques et du fonctionnement des trois écoles de langue française (y compris l’école secondaire actuellement en construction) relevant de la CSFY. Leur mandat est de superviser l’élaboration de programmes éducatifs de qualité qui favoriseront le plein développement des élèves et les prépareront à jouer leur rôle de citoyens.

Période de présentation des candidatures : Du lundi 7 octobre au jeudi 24 octobre 2019. Les candidats pourront obtenir un formulaire de déclaration de candidature, une trousse d’information et les coordonnées de la directrice du scrutin à compter du lundi 7 octobre à l’École Émilie-Tremblay, au bureau de la CSFY et, en ligne, au electionsyukon.ca. Les déclarations de candidature doivent être déposées au plus tard le 24 octobre, à midi.

Jour du scrutin : Un scrutin se tiendra si le nombre de candidats est supérieur au nombre de postes à pourvoir. Le cas échéant, le scrutin se déroulera le 4 novembre, de 15 h à 20 h, à l’École Émilie-Tremblay (20 Falcon Drive).

Bulletin de vote par correspondance : Si vous avez qualité d’électeur et que vous êtes incapable de vous présenter au bureau de scrutin le jour du vote, la Loi sur l’éducation vous autorise à voter par correspondance dans certaines circonstances. Les motifs admissibles sont les suivants : infirmité, hospitalisation, absence du district scolaire, incarcération dans un centre correctionnel, heures de travail, fait d’avoir été nommé scrutateur ou secrétaire du bureau de scrutin. Vous devez faire présenter une demande de vote par correspondance à la directrice du scrutin, remplir le bulletin de vote et le faire parvenir à la directrice avant la clôture du scrutin, le jour du scrutin.

Électeurs et candidats admissibles : Pour pouvoir vous porter candidat ou voter à l’élection de la Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon, vous devez avoir la citoyenneté canadienne, avoir 18 ans ou plus et avoir des droits linguistiques en vertu de l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Vous devez également avoir résidé au Yukon dans les trois mois qui précèdent le jour du scrutin ou avoir un enfant qui fréquente les écoles en question.

Renseignements : Pour plus d’information, contacter la directrice du scrutin, Julie Ménard, par courriel à rodsyfsb@gmail.com.

Les résultats des élections générales et partielles des membres des commissions scolaires, dont celles de 2018, peuvent être consultés ici.

Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon
478 Range Road, bureau 3
Whitehorse (Yukon) Y1A 3A2
867-667-8680
www.csfy.ca


Les élections des membres des commissions scolaires sont tenues conformément à la Loi sur l’éducation.